Wintersemester at Off-University 2019/2020


October 10th, 2019

Only a few days are left to register for another six exciting online courses that form part of this year’s Off-University winter semester programme. Next week, we will start off with classes that cover a broad range of topics in Media Studies, Political Economy, Human Rights Law, History of the Middle East and Labor Sociology. As for all Off-University courses, they offer certificates indicating ECTS points that may count towards credit at participants’ home institutions.  

Click here to see all courses: https://off-university.com/en-US/Lesson/List

----------------------------------------------

The course “Global Political Economy: Evolution and Dynamics” is organized in cooperation with Potsdam University and will be moderated by economists and political scientists Dr. Ulaş Şener and Dr. Benan Eres. During the class, students will gain an understanding of the relationship between politics and economic policies with special focus on how globalization has evolved over the last decades of global neoliberalism. It will introduce tools to analyse the present developments in global political economy while recognizing the importance of historical patterns. Click here for more information.

Classes start on 17th October and take place every Thursday: Time in Germany: 12.00 – 14.00 - Time in Turkey: 13.00 - 15.00 (after 28th October 14.00 - 16.00)

REGISTER HERE!

------------------------------------------------

Dr. Ülkü Doğanay’s class “Media and Discrimination” focuses on the role of the media in reproducing and spreading discourses of discrimination in the public sphere against refugees, ethnic and religious minorities, women, LGBTI communities, etc. In the course “Media and Discrimination” which is run in cooperation with the Institut für Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft at Free University Berlin, students will gain an understanding of discursive strategies of discrimination applied by different media types. The class will also provide an insight into diverse methodological perspectives. Click here for more information.

Classes start on 16th October and take place every Wednesday: Time in Germany: 12.15-13.45 – Time in Turkey: 13.15 – 14.45 (after 28th October 14.15 – 15.45)

REGISTER HERE!

---------------------------------------------------

Taking the concept of orientalism as a starting point, Prof. Dr. Yüksel Taşkın’s course “Comparative History of the Modern Middle East” provides students with a critical lens on competing theoretical interpretations of past and present developments in the Middle East. The class is organized in collaboration with the Ludwig-Maximilians University of Munich. Participants are expected to engage with weekly readings on the course topics. Short documentaries and files will provide an additional source for class discussion. Click here for more information.

Classes start on 17th October and take place every Thursday. Time in Germany: 10.00 -11.00 am – Time in Turkey: 11.00 – 12.00 (after 28th October 13.00 – 14.00).

REGISTER HERE!

----------------------------------------------------

What are the controversies of human rights theory? How do violations of rights become possible? These are the central questions of Dr. Ahmet Murat Aytaç’s class “Rights and Violation: A Critique of Violence”. Organised in collaboration with Free University Berlin, in this course students will engage with creative materials such as video lectures, audio-visual files and interactive digital contents to explore theoretical aspects of “human rights culture”. Looking also at recent efforts of human rights defenders to overcome adverse effects of rights violations, the aim of this class is to facilitate a critical assessment of dominant human rights approaches. Click here for more information.

Classes start on 15th October and take place every Tuesday: Time in Germany: 16:00- 18:00 – Time in Turkey: 17.00- 19.00 (after 28th October 18.00 – 20.00).

REGISTER HERE!

--------------------------------------------------------

The course “Political Economy of the Global South in the Age of Financialization” is organized in cooperation with the University of Kassel. It is facilitated by political scientist and independent researcher Dr. Ali Rıza Güngen. In the class, students can gain a comprehensive intoruction to the debates on development and political economy of the Global South. Thereby, it breaks with common misconceptions regarding economic and financial crises in these areas that not only ignore interdependencies between countries, but also neglect the policy dilemmas that emerging markets are confronted with amidst processes of financialisation. Click here for more information.

Classes start on 21st October and take place every Monday: Time in Germany: 14.15 – 15.30 – Time in Turkey: 15:15 – 16.30 (after 28th October 16.15 -17.30)

REGISTER HERE!

--------------------------------------------------------

How has neoliberal restructuring in Turkey since the 1980s led to a fundamental transformation of social policies and labor relations? What makes people subject to an increasingly flexible, unregulated, unorganised and insecure labor market in Turkey today? In his class “Social Welfare, Labour and State in Turkey”, organized in collaboration with the University of Göttingen, Dr. Onur Can Taştan will take up these questions by looking at the social welfare and labor relations dimensions of the ongoing transformation in Turkey. Dr. Taştan’s background is in Labor Economics and Industrial Relations. He is currently working on workers’ search for alternative modes of organizing and new forms of struggles against the ongoing crisis of trade unionism in Turkey. Click here for more information.

Classes start on 25th October and take place every Friday: Time in Germany: 10.00-12.00 – Time in Turkey: 11.00 – 13.00 (after 28th October 12.00 – 14.00)

REGISTER HERE!

 

Top